City of Vernon California

Leticia Lopez elected to Vernon City Council in final unofficial April 12 election vote count

Press Release

Vernon, CA – Leticia Lopez has been elected to a five-year term on the Vernon City Council in the final unofficial vote count in the city's April 12 election.

Councilmember-elect Lopez, a write-in-candidate, won over incumbent Councilmember W. Michael McCormick, who won election to the five-member city council 42-years ago and served as Vernon's mayor since April 2013.

The final unofficial municipal election results showed Councilmember-elect Lopez winning with 21-votes to Mayor McCormick's 14-votes. David J. Ybarra, a second write-in candidate, received one vote.

Vernon City Clerk Maria Ayala and her four-member election canvassing board tallied vote-by-mail results from 36-ballots. The clerk's office received 37 vote-by-mail ballots from Vernon's 72 registered voters, representing a voter turnout greater than 50%. One registered voter's ballot was disallowed for lack of a voter signature.

The final election results of the April 12 Vernon Municipal Election will be certified by a vote of city council members attending tomorrow's (Tuesday, April 19) regularly scheduled session in City Council Chambers.

Councilmember-elect Lopez is scheduled to be administered her oath of office and to assume her seat on the city council following the April 12 election results certification.

For more City of Vernon election information, go to: